Past Neurology Trainee Award Winners

Congratulations to all past award winners!

2023 Neurology Trainee Awards

1st Place Winner

Akashleena Mallick, MD

Postdoctoral Fellow, Neurology, Massachusetts General Hospital

Abstract Title: Cerebral Small Vessel Disease Subtypes and Blood Pressure Control after Intracerebral Hemorrhage

2nd Place Winner

Karishma Popli, MD, MBE

PGY-1 Neurology Prelim at Johns Hopkins Medicine

Abstract Title: Transcranial Alternating Current Stimulation Modulates Motor Network Connectivity in Patients with Blepharospasm

3rd Place Winner

Vaishnavi Vaidyanathan, MD

Chief Pediatric Neurology Resident, PGY5 Barrow Neurological Institute at Phoenix Children's Hospital

Abstract Title: Distinct Etiologies of RANBP2-negative Acute Necrotizing Encephalopathy of Childhood

2022 Neurology Trainee Award Winners

1st place - Sitara Koneru, MD

Delays in Thrombolysis During COVID-19 are Associated With Worse Neurological Outcomes: the Society of Vascular and Interventional Neurology Multicenter Collaboration

2nd place - Pratibha Surathi, MD

Are Elevated Interleukin-6 Serum Levels Associated with Increased Encephalopathy and In-hospital Mortality rates in SARS-CoV2 Patients

3rd place - Sachin M. Bhagavan, MD

Early Mobilization Protocol” Can Be Initiated in the Intensive Care Unit in Acute Ischemic Stroke Patients After Receiving Intravenous Alteplase

2021 Neurology Trainee Award Winners

1st place - Aravind Ganesh, MD, PhD

Quantifying Changes in Acute Stroke Presentations and Associated Workflow During the COVID-19 Pandemic: A Population-based Study

2nd place - Sushma Kola, MD

Survival Based on Genetic and Clinical Features in Parkinson's Disease

3rd place - Nirav Sanghani, MD

Adapting the Neurology Resident Clinic Workflow in a Large Urban Hospital During the COVID-19 Pandemic: Did it Work?

2020 Neurology Trainee Award Winners

1st place - Shashank Agarwal, MD

Association Between Functional Outcomes of Stroke Patients Receiving Mechanical Thrombectomy and CT Perfusion Imaging Acquisition

2nd place - Kanika Sharma, MD

Forecasting Multiple Sclerosis Hospitalization and Healthcare Burden in the United States from

2017 to 2040

3rd place - Aravind Ganesh, MD

Physician Approaches to Anti-thrombotic Management of Patients with Acutely Symptomatic Carotid Stenosis Awaiting Endarterectomy or Stenting: A Mixed Methods Study

2019 Neurology Trainee Award Winners

1st Place - Neal Parikh, MD

Liver Fibrosis and Outcomes after Primary Intracerebral Hemorrhage

2nd Place - Aravind Ganesh, MD

Factors Associated with Discrepancy Between Post-treatment Infarct Volume and 90-day Functional Outcome in the ESCAPE Randomized Controlled Trial

Runner Ups:

Shamik Shah, MD

TBI and PTSD are associated with higher risk of Ischemic Stroke in veteran population:

VA retrospective study

Parneet Grewal, MD

Improving field Identification of Large vessel occlusion: A retrospective review analysis

Saurav Das, MD

Tumors in the cauda equina: a SEER analysis of tumor types and predictors of outcome

2018 Neurology Trainee Award Winners

1st Place - Aravind Ganesh, MD

Long-term Consequences of Further Post-stroke Disability in Patients with Pre-morbid Disability: Potential for Acute Stroke Therapies

2nd Place - Aaron Desai, MD

Fentanyl Associated Infection Rates in Patients with Spontaneous Intracerebral Hemorrhage Admitted to the Neuro Intensive Care Unit

3rd Place - Lakshman Arcot Jayagopal, MD

Screening patients for their immunization status when transitioning to B-cell depleting therapy

2017 Neurology Trainee Award Winners

1st Place - Vamshi Krishna Sai Balasetti, MD

Post hospitalization follow-up clinic visits in neurological diseases

2nd Place - Deepak Gupta, MD

Glucose-regulated protein 78 (GRP78) in plasma and CSF is associated with Parkinson's disease

Runner Ups:

Vasu Saini, MD

Safety Outcome of Carotid Artery Stenting in Long Carotid Lesion with Proximal versus Distal Embolic Protection Devices

Apratim Chatterjee, MD

Barriers to Thrombolysis in a tertiary care institute in Eastern India

2016 Neurology Trainee Award Winner

Shivam Mittal, MD

A Double Blind Investigation of Efficacy and Safety of IncobotulinumtoxinA in Parkinson Disease Tremor - A Customized Injection Approach

2014 Neurology Trainee Award Winners

1st Place - Rajbeer Sangha, MD

Neuro-QOL for Assessment of Cognitive Impairment after Stroke: Comparison with Modified Rankin Scale

2nd Place - Partha Ghosh, MD

Diagnostic Yield Of Pediatric EMG In Myopathic Disorders

3rd Place - Monika Mishra, MD

Intracerebral hematoma volume measurement using ITK-SNAP software: Initial experience

2013 Neurology Trainee Award Winners

1st Place - Pavan Bhargava, MD

Comparison of Hospitalization Related to Multiple Sclerosis in Pre & Post Disease Modifying Therapy Eras

2nd Place - Srikant Rangaraju, MD

Synergistic Efficacy of Bevacizumab and Corticosteroids in Progressive High Grade Gliomas –

A Retrospective Study

Efficacy of Intra-Arterial Therapy in Proximal and Distal M1 Occlusions: A Retrospective Analysis

3rd Place - Wazim Mohamed, MD

Older Age, Hypertension and Diabetes Influence the Proportion of Salvageable Ischemic Tissue Following Ischemic Stroke

Clinical and Radiologic Correlates of Non-Metabolic Triphasic Waves and Epileptiform Activity in Primary Subarachnoid Hemorrhage

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software